What are the differences in Plesk types and editions?


I can choose between different types of Plesk licenses during purchase, what are their differences?


Plesk licenses come in different editions (WebAdmin, WebPro, or WebHost) and are applicable for different server types (dedicated or virtual (VPS) servers):

Server types: 

  • Dedicated server: As its name already says, you will have to choose this option if you want to install the license on a 'dedicated server'. So basically if you own the server and it is not shared with other services.  
  • VPS: This is the option that you should choose if your services are on a shared hosting or also known as a virtual server (for example OpenVZ, VMware or Xen).


  • Plesk Web Admin Edition:
    is for the basic management of simple websites and your domains, without the extended tools and features.
  • Plesk Web Pro Edition:
    is for those who need the full flexibility to build, secure and run highly optimized and customized websites. Get all the features, including the full WP Toolkit, to mass-manage and automate your projects.
  • Plesk Web Host Edition:
    for Web Hosters to customize, provision, and manage hosting businesses. Get maximum flexibility, access to the domain management tools, and the full WP Toolkit to support your multi-tenant, “install anything” business model.

You can check the comparison between the editions here:


License Bundles:

  • Plesk Wordpress Edition for Web Professionals, who're focused on Wordpress-based websites. The bundle contains essential security, performance, and website management extensions, including ImunifyAV anti-virus, Speed Kit, SEO Toolkit Personal Edition and more.

Each edition has features that are in demand by a particular group and is defined by license key.

A matrix with all features can be found here



Was this article helpful?
Additional questions? Submit a request