What are the differences in Plesk types and editions?


I can choose between different types of Plesk licenses during purchase, what are their differences?


Plesk licenses come in different editions (WebAdmin, WebPro or WebHost) and applicable for different server types (dedicated or virtual (VPS) servers):

Server types: 

  • Dedicated server: As its name already says, you will have to choose this option if you want to install the license on a 'dedicated server'. So basically if you own the server and it is not shared with other services.  
  • VPS: This is the option that you should choose if your services are on a shared hosting or also known as virtual server (for example OpenVZ, VMware or Xen).


  • Plesk Web Admin Edition for customers, who manage sites for an employer, a business, or for themselves, who wants simple website and domain management without all of the service provider overheads, like management of customers, resellers or subscriptions.

  • Plesk Web Pro Edition for Web Professionals, who design, develop, and deploy their websites, requiring a simple way to manage their customers' websites, including their growing use of WordPress as a CMS platform.

  • Plesk Web Host Edition for "Traditional" Web Hosters, who allow their customers to use their shared account in almost any configuration they want. For those, who wants secure WordPress and domain management tools to support their multi-tenant, "install anything" customers.

License Bundles:

  • Plesk Wordpress Edition for Web Professionals, who're focused on Wordpress-based websites. Bundle contains essential security, performance and website management extensions, including ImunifyAV anti-virus, Speed Kit, SEO Toolkit Personal Edition and more.

Each edition has features that are in demand by a particular group and is defined by license key.

A matrix with all features can be found here



Was this article helpful?
Additional questions? Submit a request